The MRF's Scientific Leadership

The MRF’s Scientific Leadership is comprised of multidisciplinary experts in basic and translational research, dermatology, epidemiology, genomics, pathology, surgery and medical oncology. 
Members of the MRF’s Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) are listed below. Learn more about the Scientific Steering Committee behind the MRF’s CURE OM initiative, the MRF's Pediatric Melanoma initiative and the MRFBC's Steering Committee. To read more about the MRF’s melanoma research and science objectives, visit our Research Center


Michael B. Atkins, MD, PhD

Deputy Director, Georgetown-Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center
Georgetown University
Washington, D.C.

Ze'ev A. Ronai, PhD

Professor and Scientific Director
Sanford Burnham Perbys Medical Discovery Institute
La Jolla, California


Andrew Aplin, PhD

Program Leader for Cancer Cell Biology and Signaling, Kimmel Cancer Center, Thomas Jefferson University
Thomas Jefferson University 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Menashe Bar-Eli, PhD (Grant SRO)

Professor and Deputy Chair
Co-Director, Metastasis Research Center
Houston, Texas

Boris C. Bastian, MD

Professor of Dermatology and Pathology
Gerson and Barbara Bass Bakar Distinguished Professor of Cancer Biology
University of California, San Francisco 
San Francisco, California

Kevin Brown, PhD

Laboratory of Translational Genomics
Bethesda, Maryland


Clara Curiel, MD 

Associate Professor of Dermatology
The University of Arizona Cancer Center
Tucson, Arizona

David E. Fisher, MD, PhD

Director, Melanoma Program and Chief, Department of Dermatology
Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center
Boston, Massachusetts

Keith T. Flaherty, MD

Director, Developmental Therapeutics
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts

Alan Geller, MPH, RN

Senior Lecturer on Social and Behavioral Sciences
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Harvard School of Public Health
Boston, Massachusetts

Jeff Gershenwald, MD

Professor, Department of Surgical Oncology, Division of Surgery
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, Texas

Ruth Halaban, PhD 

Senior Research Scientist
Yale University School of Medicine
Department of Dermatology
New Haven, Connecticut

Meenhard Herlyn, DVM, DSc

Professor and Program Leader, Molecular and Cellular Oncogenesis Program
The Wistar Institute
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

John Kirkwood, MD

Professor, Department of Medicine
Co-Leader, Melanoma Program
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Martin McMahon, PhD

Cumming-Presidential Professor of Cancer Biology 
Senior Director for Preclinical Translation
Huntsman Cancer Institute & Dept. of Dermatology
Salt Lake City, Utah

Glenn Merlino, PhD

Head, Cancer Modeling Section
Chief, Laboratory of Cancer Biology and Genetics
Center for Cancer Research
National Cancer Institute
Bethesda, Maryland

Toni Ribas, MD, PhD

Co-Leader, Research Education, Training and Career Development Program (CTSI-ED)
Professor of Medicine, Hematology-Oncology
Professor of Surgery, Surgical Oncology
Associate Director, JCCC Tumor Immunology Program Area
Professor, Molecular and Medical Pharmacology
Los Angeles, California

Lynn Schuchter, MD

Chief, Hematology/Oncology, Professor of Medicine
Leader: Melanoma Program
Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Mario Sznol, MD 

Professor of Medicine, Medical Oncology
Clinical Research Program Leader, Melanoma Program
Co-Director, Yale SPORE in Skin Cancer
Yale Cancer Center
New Haven, Connecticut

Vernon K. Sondak, MD

Department Chair, Cutaneous Oncology
Director of Surgical Education
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute
Tampa, Florida

Jeff Sosman, MD 

Professor of Medicine 
Director, Melanoma Program
Director, Faculty Development
Co-Leader, Translational Research in Solid Tumors
Robert H. Laurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University
Chicago, Illinois

Nancy E. Thomas, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Department of Dermatology
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Jeffrey Weber, MD, PhD

Deputy Director, Perlmutter Cancer Center
Professor of Medicine, NYU Langone Medical Center
New York, New York